Thrissur Railway Passengers' Association, TRPA is the confluence of all the stake holders who are interested in the development of Railway facilities in and around Thrissur. Naturally, all the people who avail Railway facilities from Thrissur and other neighbouring stations are automatically the members of this association. Due to the historic reasons, commuters from Thrissur towards Ernakulam, Kozhikode and Palakkad sides form the active group. TRPA always stands for meeting the public demands and this process is well supported by Railway Men, Political Leaders and the Media in Thrissur. The tireless efforts by TRPA in achieving the long standing basic requirements of Thrissur are well recognised and appreciated by one and all. TRPA is committed to continue its service to the society at large, cutting across all divisions. "Our prime focus is on the sustainable improvement of rail service in the country to world class levels with special emphasis on Thrissur"

Monday 7 April 2014

Contract staff to issue rail tickets

Unreserved tickets will soon be issued to commuters by Station Ticket Booking Sewaks (STBS) in 40 E-category stations across the State as part of exempting stationmasters from ticketing duties. With this, stationmasters in 22 stations in Thiruvananthapuram Railway Division and 18 in Palakkad Division would be able to concentrate more on operational duties, sources said.

The decision comes at a time when stationmasters’ workload had reportedly been causing safety concerns. Stationmasters had been complaining that they were forced to issue tickets through unreserved ticketing system to shore up revenue and to make bookings easier.

Sources told The Hindu that STBS would be appointed on contract to issue unreserved tickets through computerised ticketing system. The STBS would have the authority to issue non-commercial, unreserved tickets, excluding platform and season tickets, and senior citizen concession tickets. All other concession tickets requiring proof could be issued only when permitted by the stationmaster. They would issue cash tickets alone.

Railways would appoint one STBS per station. If needed, the STBS could nominate one or more persons. The STBS should be above 18 years of age, a resident in the area, and should have passed at least Class 10. The Commercial Wing of Railways had invited bids for appointing STBS. Those selected would need to remit a refundable security deposit of Rs.5,000 and furnish a bank guarantee of Rs.20,000. On completion or termination of contract, pending dues would be adjusted against the deposit.

The cost of hardware and software would be borne by Railways. Cash from ticket sale would have to be deposited with the stationmaster at the end of the shift. For the STBS, the income would be the commission, paid monthly, on net sales.


Aralvaimozhi, Cheppad, Chingavanam, Ettumanur, Edappally, Kalamassery, Karukutty, Kumbalam, Kurupanthara, Mararikulam, Mayyanad, Mulangunnathukavu, Mulanthuruthi, Murukkumpuzha, Nemom, Ochira, Ollur, Perinad, Pudukad, Sengulam, Vaikom road, and Vallathol Nagar in Thiruvananthapuram Division would get STBS. In Palakkad Division, the stations are Ullal, Kannur South, Etakkot, Tikkoli, Kadalundy, Tirunavaya, Pallipuram, Karakad, Mannanur, Lakkiti, Mankara, Parli, Kanjikode, Walayar, Ettimadai, Madukarai, West Hill, and Kallayi stations.
(The Hindu dt 8-4-2014)

No comments:

Post a Comment