Thrissur Railway Passengers' Association, TRPA is the confluence of all the stake holders who are interested in the development of Railway facilities in and around Thrissur. Naturally, all the people who avail Railway facilities from Thrissur and other neighbouring stations are automatically the members of this association. Due to the historic reasons, commuters from Thrissur towards Ernakulam, Kozhikode and Palakkad sides form the active group. TRPA always stands for meeting the public demands and this process is well supported by Railway Men, Political Leaders and the Media in Thrissur. The tireless efforts by TRPA in achieving the long standing basic requirements of Thrissur are well recognised and appreciated by one and all. TRPA is committed to continue its service to the society at large, cutting across all divisions. "Our prime focus is on the sustainable improvement of rail service in the country to world class levels with special emphasis on Thrissur"

Saturday 26 October 2013

Soon, Janamaithri-model community policing in trains

Thiruvananthapuram: Emulating the highly successful Janamaithri Suraksha programme of the state police, Kerala Railway Police are now planning to launch a community policing scheme -- called Janayathra Suraksha programme -- next month to ensure better safety of passengers in trains. 
    If in Janamaithri model the police joined hands with local residents to ensure better safety in their neighbourhood, in Janayathra programme the Kerala Railway Police will have the support of regular passengers and railway officials. 
    “The programme will ensure community participation in maintenance of public order and crime reduction, and improve 
safety of passengers in trains and at railway stations. The idea of Janayathra Suraksha programme was born out of the realisation that police-community partnership is essential to ensure safety of public and bring down crime rate,” said Kerala Railway Police SP Ch Nagaraju. 
    The Kerala Railway Police will follow the same manual of Janamaithri programme, although with a few modifications to suit their way of functioning. 
    A Janayathra Suraksha committee will be formed at all 13 railway police stations, which will have police officers, regular passengers, passengers’ association members and railway officials as its members. 
    The committee will regularly look into the issues of railway passengers and find solutions to the problems.

(Shyam PV Times of India dt 27-10-2013)

No comments:

Post a Comment